The 12 Days of Technology-Day 2: Blogs

On the second day of technology, my PLN gave to me…Blogs.

Twitter (The First Day of Technology) gives me access to a global personal learning network with interests and expertise in educational technology.  My PLN gives me links via Twitter to blog articles recommended and written by educators for educators to share knowledge and discuss topics of interest and importance in the field.  Blogs being a social medium provide for interaction between the producer and consumers of the blog.  Readers of the blogs are able to comment on the articles and continue the discussion by adding their take on the subject. What better way is there to grow as teachers than by networking with educators globally, sharing information, and working to improve education in our own departments, schools, states, countries, world?

I’ve also realized that I can blog to document my own learning and share my progress, growth, and experiences with others who are interested in growing with me.  Readers can learn from my successes and avoid the same pitfalls because they’ve been forewarned about them.   Or, perhaps they’ve already done something similar and can share their experiences. Whichever way it goes, it’s a win-win for all of us including our students.

Student blogging in all grades is a hot topic in education and is proving to be an effective way to develop student literacy.

Here’s a great article by @suewaters from Perth, Australia to get you and your students started blogging.  http://suewaters.wikispaces.com/Blog Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

