The 12 Days of Technology-Day 6: Wallwisher

On the sixth day of technology, my PLN gave me Wallwisher, and I’ve had a lot of fun with it! Wallwisher is a free Internet application that allows people to express their thoughts on a common topic easily.  It has an simple interface and is a good way to introduce social media to your students and faculty.

Signing up to use Wallwisher is easy and can be done in one of three ways. If you’ve been invited to post to a wall by receiving a link, you can either log in without registering for your own account using your email address and a password, or you can use your Google ID or your OpenID.  Registering for your own account is just as easy, but you don’t even need to fully register to build your own wall.

To post your ideas, double click to make your own “post-it” and start typing.  You have a 160-character limit, but additionally you can upload a document or other media to your post as well.  Editing is the only negative I’ve found since rather than clicking and editing, once you click you usually end up rewriting the post.

I have used this application for personal use; I have a private wall and post my “to do’s” on it .  I use a wall with my students.  Sometimes I ask them to post thoughts using grammatical structures they’re practicing, and sometimes I ask them to brainstorm a topic.  I use walls with the teachers asking them to post agenda items for our faculty meetings.  On that same wall, I post motivational videos or articles that I think they might appreciate or benefit from.  The uses for Wallwisher are only limited by our own imagination.

Here’s a slide presentation of ideas for using Wallwisher in the classroom that @tombarrett put together with the help of his PLN: 15 Interesting Ways to Use Wallwisher in the Classroom.

Try Wallwisher.  It’s simple, it’s fun, and it’s a great organizational tool.  I think  you’ll like it!

Leave a Reply

