Weekly Performance Rubric for Adult ESL Students

Though this rubric is written for a level six adult ESL class, it can easily be revised for other levels or subjects. There have been a lot of hits on this post, and I hope some of you are using or planning to use the rubric for your classes. Have you modified it? Would you share your ideas and modifications with me?

Web 2.0 for ESL

It is not uncommon for me to use rubrics to evaluate student projects.  But, as we’ve become increasingly concerned about our environment and our budgets, I’ve made every effort to run my class paperlessly by using technology.  Putting more online has also helped me and the students stay better organized and on task.  So, it was time to update my rubrics from paper to digital.

I was looking for an online rubric template which would eliminate paper, total scores, allow for easy modifications, and provide me with a duplicate of the individual rubric given to each student.  What I found was right in front of me on Blackboard, the course management system used by my college.  In addition to all of the above, Blackboard automatically sends a copy of the rubric score into the grade book, and even has space for individual feedback.

My plan is to use the rubric to evaluate the students’ weekly performance.  I…

View original post 457 more words

Leave a Reply

